FWIW here are some things I didn't understand or did wrong. (And, of course, playing Devil's Decidedly Dumb Advocate ;-) 1 How do I know if I have the right version of Git? Open GitHub icon and check Tools/About? 2 Windows hint: If you install TortoiseGIT, avoid incompatibilities by using the command line version of Git that TortoiseGIT installs. I.E. place C:\Program Files (x86)\Git\cmd in your path ahead of any other git binaries, such as cygwin. Huh? Am I Shelling, Bashing, Batting or Powershelling? How do I do that? How do I check that I have done this right? Open a Windows command window? Many Windowers will not know how to find/edit their path (and should not need to know?). A link would help. If you have dozens of items in the path, this is pretty awkward to edit? But (after a frustrating failure to get SSH access to work - in a separate post) I got to the main course using https: https://github.com/boostorg/boost.git Submodule 'io' (https://github.com/boostorg/io.git) registered for path 'libs/io' Submodule 'iostreams' (https://github.com/boostorg/iostreams.git) registered for path 'libs/iostreams' <big snip> Cloning into 'tools/quickbook'... Submodule path 'tools/quickbook': checked out '340c65150d175ffc20a9a877247928b3ed5eba1b' Success (4040769 ms @ 31-Dec-2013 17:00:21) Just over an hour (using my nominal 10 mbps living-in-the-boondocks but line-of-sight radio link) - something that should be noted in the docs (along with a strong recommendation to send to a log file)? Other you would miss/lose this very useful info? Building the Boost C++ Libraries. Performing configuration checks - symlinks supported : no - hardlinks supported : yes - 32-bit : yes . And I could test system library OK J Phew! Paul PS I had an existing (luckily current) b2.exe at c:\program files\Boost and this is implicitly in my PATH. Do we need to be more specific about how b2 is stored and accessed? Some check that b2.exe vcvars32.bat etc are all set up correctly would be good? --- Paul A. Bristow, Prizet Farmhouse, Kendal LA8 8AB UK +44 1539 561830 07714330204 mailto:pbristow@hetp.u-net.com pbristow@hetp.u-net.com
On Wed, Jan 1, 2014 at 5:53 AM, Paul A. Bristow
FWIW here are some things I didn't understand or did wrong.
(And, of course, playing Devil's Decidedly Dumb Advocate ;-)
1 How do I know if I have the right version of Git? Open GitHub icon and check Tools/About?
2 Windows hint: If you install TortoiseGIT, avoid incompatibilities by using the command line version of Git that TortoiseGIT installs. I.E. place C:\Program Files (x86)\Git\cmd in your path ahead of any other git binaries, such as cygwin.
Huh? Am I Shelling, Bashing, Batting or Powershelling?
How do I do that? How do I check that I have done this right? Open a Windows command window?
I've updated both: https://svn.boost.org/trac/boost/wiki/Git/GitHome https://svn.boost.org/trac/boost/wiki/TryModBoost To try to address those concerns.
Many Windowers will not know how to find/edit their path (and should not need to know?). A link would help. If you have dozens of items in the path, this is pretty awkward to edit?
I'm trying to avoid things that are widely known and easy to find out more about with your favorite search engine.
But (after a frustrating failure to get SSH access to work - in a separate post) I got to the main course using https:
https://github.com/boostorg/boost.git
Submodule 'io' (https://github.com/boostorg/io.git) registered for path 'libs/io' Submodule 'iostreams' (https://github.com/boostorg/iostreams.git) registered for path 'libs/iostreams'
<big snip>
Cloning into 'tools/quickbook'... Submodule path 'tools/quickbook': checked out '340c65150d175ffc20a9a877247928b3ed5eba1b'
Success (4040769 ms @ 31-Dec-2013 17:00:21)
Just over an hour (using my nominal 10 mbps living-in-the-boondocks but line-of-sight radio link) - something that should be noted in the docs (along with a strong recommendation to send to a log file)?
I've done a lot of cloning here during testing, and it is taking 45 minutes on my 3.0 mbps DSL connection. I'm guessing your actual radio link speed is well below 10 mbps or there is some other bottleneck. Anyhow, I mentioned the rough time and rough disk space needs to act as a heads up. Also added a ">clone.log" to the clone command.
Other you would miss/lose this very useful info?
Building the Boost C++ Libraries. Performing configuration checks - symlinks supported : no - hardlinks supported : yes - 32-bit : yes .
And I could test system library OK J
Phew!
Paul
PS I had an existing (luckily current) b2.exe at c:\program files\Boost and this is implicitly in my PATH. Do we need to be more specific about how b2 is stored and accessed? Some check that b2.exe vcvars32.bat etc are all set up correctly would be good?
I think that's better covered elsewhere. Maybe in the general "Getting started with boost..." material. Thanks, and I'm glad you are up and running! --Beman
-----Original Message----- From: Boost [mailto:boost-bounces@lists.boost.org] On Behalf Of Beman Dawes Sent: Wednesday, January 01, 2014 7:36 PM To: Boost Developers List Subject: Re: [boost] Trying modular Boost
On Wed, Jan 1, 2014 at 5:53 AM, Paul A. Bristow
wrote: FWIW here are some things I didn't understand or did wrong. (And, of course, playing Devil's Decidedly Dumb Advocate ;-)
<snip>
I've updated both:
https://svn.boost.org/trac/boost/wiki/Git/GitHome https://svn.boost.org/trac/boost/wiki/TryModBoost
To try to address those concerns.
Thanks. I'm sure this will help others who are as ignorant/stupid ;-)
But (after a frustrating failure to get SSH access to work - in a separate post) I got to the main course using https:
Just over an hour (using my nominal 10 mbps living-in-the-boondocks but line-of-sight radio link) - something that should be noted in the docs (along with a strong recommendation to send to a log file)?
I've done a lot of cloning here during testing, and it is taking 45 minutes on my 3.0 mbps DSL connection. I'm guessing your actual radio link speed is well below 10 mbps or there is some other bottleneck.
(I normally get downloads from Microsoft at 1 Mbyte/second == approx. 10 Mbits/s but there you go...) Is the download speed faster using SSH compared to https? Is it worth continuing to try to get the SSH method to work? Paul --- Paul A. Bristow, Prizet Farmhouse, Kendal LA8 8AB UK +44 1539 561830 07714330204 pbristow@hetp.u-net.com
[Please do not mail me a copy of your followup] boost@lists.boost.org spake the secret code <003501cf07aa$39db45a0$ad91d0e0$@hetp.u-net.com> thusly:
Is it worth continuing to try to get the SSH method to work?
I also couldn't get the ssh style url to work, I used regular http: url and it worked. -- "The Direct3D Graphics Pipeline" free book http://tinyurl.com/d3d-pipeline The Computer Graphics Museum http://computergraphicsmuseum.org The Terminals Wiki http://terminals.classiccmp.org Legalize Adulthood! (my blog) http://legalizeadulthood.wordpress.com
On Thu, Jan 2, 2014 at 6:03 AM, Paul A. Bristow
Is it worth continuing to try to get the SSH method to work?
Let's check a few things: * Does your .ssh directory look like this: Directory of C:\Users\Beman\.ssh 09/25/2010 07:39 AM <DIR> . 09/25/2010 07:39 AM <DIR> .. 09/06/2010 07:00 PM 1,675 id_rsa 06/17/2008 08:13 AM 630 id_rsa.keystore 09/06/2010 07:00 PM 396 id_rsa.pub 08/30/2013 11:05 AM 4,695 known_hosts * Is your .ssh directory in you %HOME% folder? * In TortoiseGit | Settings | Network is the SSH client specified as: C:\Program Files (x86)\Git\bin\ssh.exe I used to have a lot of trouble getting SSH to work at all, but particularly with TortoiseGit. It all came down to .ssh being in the wrong place, and the particular ssh client. HTH, --Beman
-----Original Message----- From: Boost [mailto:boost-bounces@lists.boost.org] On Behalf Of Beman Dawes Sent: Saturday, January 04, 2014 4:51 PM To: Boost Developers List Subject: Re: [boost] Trying modular Boost
On Thu, Jan 2, 2014 at 6:03 AM, Paul A. Bristow
wrote: Is it worth continuing to try to get the SSH method to work?
Let's check a few things:
* Does your .ssh directory look like this:
Directory of C:\Users\Beman\.ssh
09/25/2010 07:39 AM <DIR> . 09/25/2010 07:39 AM <DIR> .. 09/06/2010 07:00 PM 1,675 id_rsa 06/17/2008 08:13 AM 630 id_rsa.keystore 09/06/2010 07:00 PM 396 id_rsa.pub 08/30/2013 11:05 AM 4,695 known_hosts
Not quite - I don't have a id_rsa.keystore C:\Users\Paul>dir .ssh Volume in drive C is Win7Ult Volume Serial Number is 6493-25EF Directory of C:\Users\Paul\.ssh 13-Dec-2013 12:20 <DIR> . 13-Dec-2013 12:20 <DIR> .. 13-Dec-2013 12:20 1,675 github_rsa 13-Dec-2013 12:20 392 github_rsa.pub 24-Sep-2011 16:52 1,743 id_rsa 24-Sep-2011 16:52 405 id_rsa.pub 04-Jan-2014 12:23 1,595 known_hosts 5 File(s) 5,810 bytes 2 Dir(s) 10,254,884,864 bytes free
* Is your .ssh directory in you %HOME% folder? I'm not sure if I have a HOME folder?
C:\Users\Paul>set %HOME% Environment variable %HOME% not defined C:\Users\Paul>set ALLUSERSPROFILE=C:\ProgramData AMDAPPSDKROOT=C:\Program Files\AMD APP\ APPDATA=C:\Users\Paul\AppData\Roaming APR_ICONV_PATH=C:\Program Files\Subversion\iconv BOOST=i:/boost-trunk BOOST_BUILD_PATH=i:/boost-trunk/tools/build/v2 CLASSPATH=.;C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\lib\ext\QTJava.zip CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files COMPUTERNAME=HETPA ComSpec=C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe CVS_RSH="C:\Program Files\PuTTY\putty.exe" FP_NO_HOST_CHECK=NO HOMEDRIVE=C: HOMEPATH=\Users\Paul LOCALAPPDATA=C:\Users\Paul\AppData\Local LOGONSERVER=\\HETPA MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH=C:\PROGRAM FILES\FOXIT SOFTWARE\FOXIT READER\plugins\ NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=4 OS=Windows_NT Path=C:\Program Files\AMD APP\bin\x86;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;C: \Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C: \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\SnapAPI\;C:\Program Files\doxygen\bin;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\100\Tools\Binn\;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\100\DTS\Binn\;c:\program files\ink scape\;C:\Program Files\7-Zip\;"C:\Program Files\Auto-index";C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Shared;c: \program files\boost;C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.9\miktex\bin\;C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\ ;C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI.ACE\Core-Static;C:\Program Files\Git\cmd;c:\Cygwin;C:\Program Files\Subversion\bin;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem\;C:\Program Files\gs\gs9.07\bin;c:\Program Files\SVGMath;C:\Program Files\TortoiseSVN\bin;C:\Program Files\TortoiseGit\bin;i:\modular-boost;C: \Program Files\CVSNT\ PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.MSC PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86 PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 16 Model 4 Stepping 3, AuthenticAMD PROCESSOR_LEVEL=16 PROCESSOR_REVISION=0403 ProgramData=C:\ProgramData ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files PROMPT=$P$G PSModulePath=C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\Modules\ PUBLIC=C:\Users\Public QTJAVA=C:\Program Files\Java\jre7\lib\ext\QTJava.zip SystemDrive=C: SystemRoot=C:\Windows TEMP=C:\Users\Paul\AppData\Local\Temp TMP=C:\Users\Paul\AppData\Local\Temp USERDOMAIN=hetpA USERNAME=Paul USERPROFILE=C:\Users\Paul VS100COMNTOOLS=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\Tools\ windir=C:\Windows Or the other hand Torptise GIT Settings Show environment variables (attached) includes this variable HOME=C:/\Users\Paul
* In TortoiseGit | Settings | Network is the SSH client specified as: C:\Program Files (x86)\Git\bin\ssh.exe
No it is C:\Program Files\TortoiseGit\bin\TortoiseGitPLink.exe (I believe that I do have this file) but I can change it to C:\Program Files\Git\bin\ssh.exe?
I used to have a lot of trouble getting SSH to work at all, but particularly with TortoiseGit. It all came down to .ssh being in the wrong place, and the particular ssh client.
Suggestions? Paul PS I there an real advantage in using SSH rather than https?
[Please do not mail me a copy of your followup]
boost@lists.boost.org spake the secret code
On Thu, Jan 2, 2014 at 6:03 AM, Paul A. Bristow
wrote: Is it worth continuing to try to get the SSH method to work?
Let's check a few things:
* Does your .ssh directory look like this:
Directory of C:\Users\Beman\.ssh
09/25/2010 07:39 AM <DIR> . 09/25/2010 07:39 AM <DIR> .. 09/06/2010 07:00 PM 1,675 id_rsa 06/17/2008 08:13 AM 630 id_rsa.keystore 09/06/2010 07:00 PM 396 id_rsa.pub 08/30/2013 11:05 AM 4,695 known_hosts
* Is your .ssh directory in you %HOME% folder?
One thing that confused me about the ssh URL listed in the instructions is that it had the username as "git@github.com" -- how am I supposed to authenticate myself as user 'git'? -- "The Direct3D Graphics Pipeline" free book http://tinyurl.com/d3d-pipeline The Computer Graphics Museum http://computergraphicsmuseum.org The Terminals Wiki http://terminals.classiccmp.org Legalize Adulthood! (my blog) http://legalizeadulthood.wordpress.com
On Sat, Jan 04, 2014 at 07:29:06PM +0000, Richard wrote:
One thing that confused me about the ssh URL listed in the instructions is that it had the username as "git@github.com" -- how am I supposed to authenticate myself as user 'git'?
The way Github (and bitbucket, and others) identify people is via the public key you have registered on your account. There's a 1:1 mapping of keypair to identity, so it all works out. -- Lars Viklund | zao@acc.umu.se
[Please do not mail me a copy of your followup] boost@lists.boost.org spake the secret code <20140104212509.GB680006@lenin.acc.umu.se> thusly:
On Sat, Jan 04, 2014 at 07:29:06PM +0000, Richard wrote:
One thing that confused me about the ssh URL listed in the instructions is that it had the username as "git@github.com" -- how am I supposed to authenticate myself as user 'git'?
The way Github (and bitbucket, and others) identify people is via the public key you have registered on your account.
Then wouldn't it be "legalize@github.com" and not "git@github.com"? When I copy/pasted the command given at https://svn.boost.org/trac/boost/wiki/TryModBoost I always get this error:
git clone --recursive git@github.com:boostorg/boost.git modular-boost Cloning into 'modular-boost'... Permission denied (publickey). fatal: Could not read from remote repository.
Please make sure you have the correct access rights and the repository exists. I don't know how else to interpret this except that I am not able to authenticate as user 'git' -- and why would I? I don't have the private/public key for user git. -- "The Direct3D Graphics Pipeline" free book http://tinyurl.com/d3d-pipeline The Computer Graphics Museum http://computergraphicsmuseum.org The Terminals Wiki http://terminals.classiccmp.org Legalize Adulthood! (my blog) http://legalizeadulthood.wordpress.com
On Sat, Jan 04, 2014 at 09:35:04PM +0000, Richard wrote:
The way Github (and bitbucket, and others) identify people is via the public key you have registered on your account.
Then wouldn't it be "legalize@github.com" and not "git@github.com"?
No, it would be git@.
When I copy/pasted the command given at https://svn.boost.org/trac/boost/wiki/TryModBoost
I always get this error:
git clone --recursive git@github.com:boostorg/boost.git modular-boost Cloning into 'modular-boost'... Permission denied (publickey). fatal: Could not read from remote repository.
Please make sure you have the correct access rights and the repository exists.
I don't know how else to interpret this except that I am not able to authenticate as user 'git' -- and why would I? I don't have the private/public key for user git.
When Github gets a login attempt for SSH user git, it uses the signature from your private key to look up the corresponding public key registered with some logical Github account and uses that logical Github account for rights and permissions. If you want a primary source for the clone URL, log into Github and on the right-hand-panel for the repository you have a 'clone URL' which looks just like the one cited in our wiki. If you want to test whether your key is properly registered and/or if your agent is working, you can use a SSH client (or putty, or plink) to make a (failing) connect akin to: ∫ ssh -i ~/.ssh/id_github git@github.com PTY allocation request failed on channel 0 Hi zao! You've successfully authenticated, but GitHub does not provide shell access. Connection to github.com closed. -- Lars Viklund | zao@acc.umu.se
[Please do not mail me a copy of your followup] boost@lists.boost.org spake the secret code <20140104215957.GC680006@lenin.acc.umu.se> thusly:
When Github gets a login attempt for SSH user git, it uses the signature from your private key to look up the corresponding public key registered with some logical Github account and uses that logical Github account for rights and permissions.
OK, this was completely non-obvious to me; perhaps we should point this out on the trac wiki page or link to a page on github that explains this? I'll have to learn myself how to configure the SSH that git is using so that my key is recognized. -- "The Direct3D Graphics Pipeline" free book http://tinyurl.com/d3d-pipeline The Computer Graphics Museum http://computergraphicsmuseum.org The Terminals Wiki http://terminals.classiccmp.org Legalize Adulthood! (my blog) http://legalizeadulthood.wordpress.com
-----Original Message----- From: Boost [mailto:boost-bounces@lists.boost.org] On Behalf Of Richard Sent: Saturday, January 04, 2014 7:29 PM To: boost@lists.boost.org Subject: Re: [boost] Trying modular Boost
[Please do not mail me a copy of your followup]
boost@lists.boost.org spake the secret code
thusly: On Thu, Jan 2, 2014 at 6:03 AM, Paul A. Bristow
wrote: Is it worth continuing to try to get the SSH method to work?
I've had another go at using SSH, and got it working (by deleting the two is_rsa and rsa_pub files and creating another key). But it now asks for passphrase for every module which is clearly intolerable. On Windows, making this not happen seems a fiddle, so before I waste more time, is there any disadvantage in using https (over SSH)? Paul
Am 31.01.2014 15:53 schrieb Paul A. Bristow:
Is it worth continuing to try to get the SSH method to work? I've had another go at using SSH, and got it working> But it now asks for passphrase for every module which is clearly intolerable.
So true, but you just need a pageant (-like) helper to leave this annoying passphrase thing behind you. I'm running KeePass as secure password/certificate store with the KeeAgent plugin to serve ssh certificates. Both commandline git and TortoiseGit are configured using TortoisePLink (which is the default afaik). Annoyance-Be-Gone! My git configs contain lines similar to [remote "origin"] url = git@github.com:boostorg/boost.git pushurl = boost-is-read-only With all of this in place you get security, ease-of-use, and the most effective transport mechanism. Ciao Dani
On Fri, Jan 31, 2014 at 9:34 AM, Daniela Engert
Am 31.01.2014 15:53 schrieb Paul A. Bristow:
Is it worth continuing to try to get the SSH method to work? I've had another go at using SSH, and got it working> But it now asks for passphrase for every module which is clearly intolerable.
So true, but you just need a pageant (-like) helper to leave this annoying passphrase thing behind you. I'm running KeePass as secure password/certificate store with the KeeAgent plugin to serve ssh certificates. Both commandline git and TortoiseGit are configured using TortoisePLink (which is the default afaik). Annoyance-Be-Gone!
My git configs contain lines similar to
[remote "origin"] url = git@github.com:boostorg/boost.git pushurl = boost-is-read-only
With all of this in place you get security, ease-of-use, and the most effective transport mechanism.
Ciao Dani
One advantage of http(s) over ssh is that it is more likely to get through any company firewalls you might have in your way. After you get an ssh helper working as described above, you might want to follow these GitHub instructionshttps://help.github.com/articles/using-ssh-over-the-https-port to do ssh through an http(s) port. Michael
_______________________________________________ Unsubscribe & other changes: http://lists.boost.org/mailman/listinfo.cgi/boost
On Feb 3, 2014, at 10:50 PM, Cox, Michael wrote:
On Fri, Jan 31, 2014 at 9:34 AM, Daniela Engert
wrote: Am 31.01.2014 15:53 schrieb Paul A. Bristow:
Is it worth continuing to try to get the SSH method to work? I've had another go at using SSH, and got it working> But it now asks for passphrase for every module which is clearly intolerable.
Hi Paul, Once I got the correct ssh keys into github and configured .gitconfig on the server behind the firewall, it never prompts for a password. I added this to our .gitconfig. [http] proxy = http://kbelco@wwwproxy.sandia.gov:80 [https] proxy = https://kbelco@wwwproxy.sandia.gov:80 and ran this: ssh-keygen -t rsa to generate a public key on the machine behind the firewall, and put that public key (~/.ssh/id_rsa.pub) into github. Note that I generated the rsa key with no passphrase (hit return twice, don't type a passphrase into ssh-keygen). YMMV -- Noel
participants (7)
-
Belcourt, Kenneth
-
Beman Dawes
-
Cox, Michael
-
Daniela Engert
-
Lars Viklund
-
legalize+jeeves@mail.xmission.com
-
Paul A. Bristow